PDA

View Full Version : reading netcdf in MATLAB

deba
28th July 2005, 04:43 AM
Hi all,
can anyone tell me how to read netcdf files in MATLAB?
also if one has to convert files to netcdf, is it possible to do so in MATLAB.
i am new to this and a detailed description would be highly appreciated.
any links to MATLAB tutorials are also welcome

regards,
deba

vinu
30th July 2005, 02:16 PM
Hi Deba,

I am not specifiying any methods for your question. Although
I hope the similar topic is duscussed in our website. Try these
and I hope it will hlep you.

http://www.oceanographers.net/forums/showpost.php?p=624&postcount=2

http://www.oceanographers.net/forums/showthread.php?t=107

-Thanks

pauloh
10th August 2005, 11:28 AM
You need to have an appropriate toolbox (a good one is mexcdf :http://mexcdf.sourceforge.net/ ).

Once you have installed it, it's pretty easy:
Example:

nc=netcdf('file.nc');
var=nc{'var'}(:);
ans so on!

Good luck!

Paulo

rocksea
10th August 2005, 12:42 PM
thank you pauloh, sorry for missing this and a late reply.
let me detail it.

Warning: If you are using MatLab in linux, see the link given by pauloh and follow instructions there for ‘installing’ interface..

Yes, for accessing netcdf utilities, you've to install a proper interface
like mexcdf. Here I've attached mexcdf53.zip & netcdf_install.m.
Follow the steps below and you'll be able to use netcdf.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Installing and initiating the netcdf interface (mexcdf) for MatLab. (ver. 5-6, I hope)

copy the file netcdf_install.m into \MatLab\toolbox\
start MatLab
change the working directory to \MatLab\toolbox\
execute netcdf_install;
it will create a dir. netcdf in \toolbox\ in MatLab, File-Set Path, ‘add with sub folders’, select the folder \toolbox\netcdf
exit MatLab
unzip the mexcdf.zip
copy the mexcdf53.dll and netcdf.dll into \toolbox\netcdf\
restart MatLab, select working directory as netcdf